Calhoun County
Stamp Club


Welcome to the
Calhoun County Stamp Club

The Calhoun County Stamp Club was originally formed in 1965 by Jerry York, a student at Jacksonville State University, and Maj. Robert Effinger, who was at the time stationed at Fort McClellen.

The first constitution was approved Feb. 7, 1966. The first officers were Jerry York, president; Robert Effinger, vice-president; William Kahn, secretary-treasurer and Mrs. A. C. Shelton, librarian.

On July 12, 1966, the club applied for membership as a chapter of the American Philatelic Society. The application was approved on Oct. 1, 1966, making the club APS Chapter 629 (membership number 49489). Due to the resignation of the president and secretary-treasurer, in September 1966, a special election was held. The new officers were Robert Effinger, president; Friedhelm Werk, vice-president; Ross Liston Crow, secretary and Mrs. A. C. Shelton, librarian.

Charter members are Jerry York, Robert Effinger, Capt. William Kahn, Ross Liston Crow, Mrs. A. C. Shelton Sr., Drue Stevenson, Lt. Col. Charles Forsthoff, Ralph Lindsey, Lt. Col. Joseph Searcy, Sgt. Maj. Friedhelm Werk, Lt. Col. Ivan Johnson, Capt. Gary Powell, Lt. Col. Charles Turon, Harry Y. Dempsey, Frank Semmes, Bill Lewis, Mrs. Ellen Hammond, Jon Searcy and Wolfgang Mueller.

The purpose of the club is to foster, develop and otherwise enhance the avocation of stamp collecting. It is particularly interested in assisting new collectors, both children and adults. The dues began at $1 a year and have never been raised. Interested persons are always welcome to attend the meetings and apply for membership..

The membership of the Calhoun County Stamp Club is normally about twenty and nearly half are very active in local, state and national philatelic societies and activities. The late Robert Effinger judged and exhibited in national and international shows. Dr. Gary Yunker writes a monthly nationally syndicated column for Stamp World. Dr. Koerper and Dr. Yunker have judged statewide stamp shows. Park King, Chris Sherwood, and Dr. Koerper have also exhibited selected portions of their collections in state and regional shows.

Meetings are the second and fourth Tuesday of each month in room 117, Ernest Stone Performing Arts Building on the campus of Jacksonville State University at 7:30 p. m. They usually consist of a short business session, followed by a program presented by a member or guest. Circuit books, which are passed from club-to-club nationwide, make it possible for members to purchase a wide variety of stamps. At the club meetings, members exchange information on stamps, discuss collecting ideas and the programs that are presented at the meetings.

Current officers are Dr. Phillip E. Koerper, president; Mr. Parks King, vice-president; Mr. Jerry York, treasurer and chairman of CALCOPEX; and Ms. Cordelia L. Gray, secretary.


2004-2005 Southeast Federation of Stamp Clubs.
Designed by 8 Consulting, LLC